Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Wins Eighth Men’s Tennis Tournament Title

first_imgIn front of an electric home crowd at the Thomas J. Henry Center, Carlos Pedrosa Cuevas secured a three-set victory that served as the match’s clinching point. After dropping the opening frame 6-1, Cuevas stormed back to force a third set while the Wildcats won at No. 1 and 3 singles to make the fourth-line match the deciding point. The rest was history as Cuevas topped Dimitris Azoides 6-3 in the final set. BOX SCORECORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS – For the first time since 2015 and the eighth time in league history, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi is crowned the Southland Conference Men’s Tennis Tournament champions with a 4-3 victory over top-seeded Abilene Christian on Saturday. Okkie Kellerman and Kyohei Yamanaka were victorious at No. 5 and 6 singles to give the Islanders a 3-1 lead before brothers Josh and Jon Sheehy defeated their A&M-Corpus Christi counterparts to draw the score even at three-all.center_img Abilene Christian and A&M-Corpus Christi exchanged doubles wins at the first and third lines, setting up a decisive contest at No. 2 doubles for the point. The Islanders’ William Mottet and Thomas Rodrigues edged Cole Lawson and Jackson Fine 7-3 in the tiebreaker to give A&M-Corpus Christi its first point.last_img read more